EN 50131 is a European standard series for intruder alarms and hold-up systems. It is not the easiest task to understand and implement all the documentation, so we will try to be brief and helpful here.

Some modern history

In 1997 European Standards Organization (CEN, CENELEC or ETSI) published EN 50131-1 standard which introduced Security system grading. Almost a decade later that same organization updated that standard to EN 50131-1:2006 which further described alarm system requirements and basically unchanged it serves it’s purpose to this day.

Let’s take a look at what benefits this document brought with it. Initially,it unifies the understanding of what an electronic alarm system is. The standard is there to help insurers, intruder alarm companies, customers and the police in achieving a complete and accurate specification of the supervision required security in individual premises. Naturally it covers all aspects of alarm systems from authorization, redundancy, user roles, tampers to name just a few, but we will cover only the main aspects here.

EN 50131 grades

There are 4 intruder alarm security grades

From the lowest Grade 1 up to Grade 4. However, Grade 4 systems are non-existent for practical purposes. Only Grades 2 and 3 can gain police response to alarms. To make it more understandable to general public “The Security grade is a measure of the resilience to outside influences and to attack by criminals. It is the norm to describe the Security Grades like this:

  • Grade 1: intruders are expected to have little or no expertise.
  • Grade 2: intruders are expected to have more knowledge and some specialist equipment.
  • Grade 3: intruders will have both comprehensive knowledge and portable electronic equipment.
  • Grade 4: intruders have expertise, access to good equipment and planned intrusion.

Remember, the system’s grade is as high as it’s component’s lowest grade!

For example, if you use ELDES ESIM364 hybrid control panel with Grade 3 certified wired sensors of any manufacturer, system is Grade 3 certified. But adding any Grade 2 sensor brings the whole system down to Grade 2 level.

EN50131 grades 2 and 3

Which security grade should my client choose?

The grades are there to help people decide which security system they will need. An insurance company may not insure your asset if it is not guarded by at least a Grade 2 system. It is also worthy to note that in some European countries, police forces will refuse to put a premises under supervision if it is not protected by at least a Grade 3 security system. So, the quality standards are clearly set.
Usually a security company will only agree to take signals from security systems of Grade 2 and above.
Therefore, it is obvious that clients who require proper security for their homes and business premises will choose to fit a minimum Grade 2 system.

EN 50131 grades

This is why all ELDES wireless intruder alarm systems are EN 50131 Grade 2 certified.

EN 50131 Grade 2 is the maximum grading that any wireless intruder alarm can achieve. Wireless helps to save walls, avoid dust, reduce installation time and add flexibility. Certified Wireless Alarm Systems eliminate the main threats and are recognised by insurers and security monitoring companies alike. This is why they are becoming increasingly popular in western countries. “

Where to buy?